Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

Looking back!

with 2 comments


Yellowknife has a history of mining. It all started with gold back in the 30’s and continue until the 90’s. In the 90’s diamonds began to take over. Now our gold mines have long been closed and diamonds are kings. If you are here in the Yellowknife area and drive the Ingraham Trail you will past two former gold mines. Last weekend I was out with friends on a shoot and a hike and had to past them twice. On the return part of the trip I stopped to capture a few images. While sitting in the truck waiting for both traffic to pass and for a friend to take a few pics, I looked toward the old Giant Mine Head Frame. I notice that while looking slightly ahead at the mine I also had a clear view in my side mirror. The side mirror view was looking back behind where I was sitting. I immediately thought of looking back at our past or history. I quickly grab my camera and captured both the forward and mirrored view in one image. I really enjoy the shot. There was also some thoughts back to the old Ingraham and with a quick detour I took a drive on the old highway to capture the current condition of the old asphalt. Here are a couple of images my shoot. Thanks for stopping by and as always Happy Shooting;

 

 

 

 

 

Written by leesacrey

September 20, 2012 at 7:00 AM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great Photos on your Blog. Inspiring.

    fotosvonneulich

    November 30, 2012 at 7:39 AM

    • Thanks for the comment, it is nice to know people like what I do!

      leesacrey

      November 30, 2012 at 2:59 PM


Leave a Reply

