Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

Ulukhaktok, NWT – I’m back!

with one comment


On September 18 to 22, 2012, I was back in Ulukhaktok. I love Ulukhaktok! This trip was all about teaching a group of students (Skills Canada/NWT – Skills Club students) about cameras and photography. It was amazing, teaching began on the 19th at around 9 am and ran until 3:30 pm (with an hour for lunch in there). Between 3:30 pm and 5 pm Jan Fullerton (ED of Skills Canada/NWT) and I would review images, pack up camera gear and do admin work. We would break for dinner and be back at the school for 6:30 pm for an evening of hands on work. The shooting would general last until 8:30 pm and after we would return to the school for hot chocolate and some friendly chatter. That would be the schedule for each school day. Jan would gather all the students images from the day and look through them each night and we would display and discuss them the next day. There were even some assignments for the students to perform. Friday we would stay at the school for dinner and would be joined there by the students with a longer amount of hands on work to be done after dinner. Saturday we were back at the school and some of the students would join us there. It was a great reward to have such great involvement from these amazing young people. It was an unbelievable trip and I can’t wait to do this again. The work this young people put in was very inspiring and the future of the photography skills club in Ulukhaktok looks good. Did I mention I love Ulukhaktok and the student there? Even with our schedule I still managed to get around 600 to 700 images of my own (I only kept around 80 for my library).

I would love to display them all here but, I have a magazine article to do on this trip and don’t want to give too much away just yet. I have kept a number of the students images for the article as well and their work was stunning. For now here is a sample of what I was able to capture. I will let you know when the article is out so, stay tuned for that. I hope you enjoy these images, thank for visiting and as always Happy Shooting.

The community of Ulukhaktok from the top of First Hill.

First and Third Hill from across Jack’s Bay where First River enters.

The view towards the Arctic Ocean from the entrance of King’s Bay.

My view of First Hill from Jack’s bay on Saturday. Waiting for the plane to arrive is not always a bad thing, lol.

An Arctic Hare at sunset on top of First Hill.

Written by leesacrey

September 27, 2012 at 12:22 AM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow, truly terrific!
    The arctic hare is so cute.

    London Caller

    September 27, 2012 at 4:35 PM


Leave a Reply

