Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

Jean Marie River Road Trip.

with 2 comments


This weekend I took a quick road trip to Jean Marie River. Garry from my office came with me as we were on a client development trip for work. I had never been to Jean Marie River before and looked forward to checking it out. The farthest I have driven down that highway is the Trout Lake winter road turn off. There was another first for me on this trip, it would also be the first time I would cross the new Deh Cho Bridge (The bridge opened November 30, 2012). We left at around 1:10 pm on friday and arrived at the new bridge at around 4:30 pm, the sun had set already so, there were no big photos ops of our bridge crossing. We continued on the Jean Marie River and arrived there at around 7:15 pm. We did a quick drive around the community before finding our place for the night. After arriving we took a few minutes to relax before unloading the truck. We talked business for the next few hours and on occasion we would chat about some personal things. We heard that there were some wolves in the area and that the day before someone had seen three lynx on the twenty-seven kilometres from Jean Marie River to the highway. I was hoping to spot either or both. I knew it might be tough as daylight is really limited this time of year. It was cold in Jean Marie River, a crisp thirty-seven below zero. The temperature is something we experience in Yellowknife regularly throughout in winter however, the difference seemed to be the humidity. Jean Marie River is situated where the Mackenzie and the Jean Marie Rivers meet and the humidity is much greater than what we have in Yellowknife. I was a little concerned as I wouldn’t be plugging my truck’s block heater and battery blankets in tonight. We called it a night at around midnight and settled in. The next morning we were up and ready to visit the office and continuing to discuss potential work. After the office visit we took a quick trip to a job site to check on things. On our way there I was hoping for some wildlife and I did see some. There were Spruce Grouse on the road and there was also a Rabbit hopping along the highway. I got a few shots of the Grouse but the Rabbit was much faster than I was, lol. After a quick return to Jean Marie River, we were off on the return leg of our trip. I made a quick stop at the Trout River (I have never been there) and grabbed a couple of shots there (no filters or tripod so, not my usual fair). I have to return here for either spring runoff or in summer, the river and the falls there are amazing. From there it was back across the Deh Cho Bridge and home to Yellowknife. We arrived home at around 8:00 pm with 1271.6 kilometres of travelling complete. It was great fun. I wonder where I will travel next. Here is a sample of what I saw. Enjoy, thanks for visiting and as always Happy Shooting.

Image 1 - December 9, 2012

Image 2 - December 9, 2012

Image 3 - December 9, 2012

Image 4 - December 9, 2012

Written by leesacrey

December 9, 2012 at 7:57 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Reblogged this on pensamiento amplio and commented:
    like

    putrabbn

    December 10, 2012 at 12:06 AM

  2. This post surely help those who want to learn how to capture beautiful things, like nature , birds etc

    stock Photos

    lawrencebrussel

    February 11, 2013 at 4:43 AM


Leave a Reply

