Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

The Skilled Kids from Skills

with one comment


I do quite a bit of work with Skills Canada Northwest Territories, during the day I look after their finances (along with Lynnette and Garry from my office) and the rest of the time I am the Photography Tech Chair (a role I now share with Adam Hill). It is enjoyable work. Last September I went on a trip with the Executive Director (Jan Fullerton) of Skills NWT to Ulukhaktok, Northwest Territories. The purpose of the trip was to teach a small group of students a CTS Photography course. We (Jan and I) ran the course from Tuesday to Friday, had nine students and even included some evening time for shooting. It was an amazing trip. You may have even read an earlier post I did about the trip and there is an upcoming magazine article soon to be released about the trip as well. In my earlier discussions I had posted only images that I had taken. Today I wanted to display images from the nine amazing students. I have done some editing of the images for this post and the magazine piece but, all images are taken by the students. Get ready because there are quite a few, maybe the largest number of images of any post I have ever done. Anyway let’s get started.

 

@ Natalja Bristow

@ Natalja Bristow

 

 

@ Rhea Klengenberg

@ Rhea Klengenberg

 

@ Phylicia Kagtuk

@ Phylicia Kagtuk

 

@ Tamara Oloakyok

@ Tamara Oloakyok

 

@ Juliet Klengenberg

@ Juliet Klengenberg

 

@ Topsy Banksland

@ Topsy Banksland

 

@ Simon Kudlak

@ Simon Kudlak

 

@ Laura Akoakhion

@ Laura Akoakhion

 

@ Tyson Klengenberg

@ Tyson Klengenberg

 

@ Natalja Bristow

@ Natalja Bristow

 

@ Juliet Klengenberg

@ Juliet Klengenberg

 

@ Topsy Banksland

@ Topsy Banksland

 

@ SImon Kudlak

@ SImon Kudlak

 

@ Topsy Banksland

@ Topsy Banksland

 

@ Tyson Klengenberg

@ Tyson Klengenberg

 

@ Tamara Oloakyok

@ Tamara Oloakyok

 

As you can see, this group just seemed to absorb the information Jan and I had taught. They were very engaged and their commitment to our little course was inspiring. I can say I was very impressed. The timing of this post is done for a reason. On April 16, 2013, Skills Canada NWT will hold its annual Territorial Skills Competition. Photography will be one of the events held and I will be there as the Tech Chair. It will be an enjoyable day. We are fortunate to have Daryl Benson join us as a judge for the event. This will be Daryl’s second Skills event in Yellowknife and we couldn’t be happier that he is willing to provide his time. If you are in Yellowknife on the 16th drop by the event and say hello, we will be happy to see you there. To all the competitors (in all the events) good luck and have fun. For those of you visiting here, thanks for taking the time, enjoy the images and as always Happy Shooting.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for bringing the cherished visual memories of the NWT back to me. Those pics are wonderful and I do miss those vistas..

    masqua

    April 4, 2013 at 7:14 AM


Leave a Reply

