Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

Vacation 2013 – Part 5 – I’m Pileated with this trip so far!

leave a comment »


We left Devon today and made it to Lethbridge. I should tell everyone that the Lion’s Campground in Devon is awesome and we would recommend it to all RVers, watch for golf balls as you drive across two Devon Golf and Country Club Fairways though, lol. A couple of years ago we were sitting in the RV when just outside on a tree next to our site landed a bird. It was a large woodpecker. I am not really a bird kind of guy (although I enjoy photographing them on occasion) so, I didn’t know what it was. I asked some friends of mine who are into the whole bird watching thing (My Big Year Friends, lol) and they thought it was a Pileated Woodpecker. I was told they aren’t seen all that often and how disappointed they were that I didn’t get a shot of it. Well, as we pulled onto Saskatchewan Avenue in Devon I saw good old Woody Woodpecker fly by and land on a tree just on the side of the road. I quickly pulled over and as I did Dale and the girls told me there was more than one. I jumped out of the truck with camera in hand and got ready to shoot. I expected Woody to fly away but no, he stayed put. Then I noticed two guys standing near the tree just talking. They saw me and asked if I was trying to get that crazy giant woodpecker, I said yes and explained that you never see those. They laughed and seemed to think I was a little bird brained. All this time old Woody just walked around below the tree just a few feet from the chatting gentlemen. I grabbed a couple of quick shots before hitting the road. To my previously disappointed bird fans, here is a shot I took this morning. Thanks everyone for stopping by, stay tuned for the next post and as always Happy Shooting.

 

Woody Woodpecker

Woody Woodpecker

Written by leesacrey

August 7, 2013 at 7:55 PM

Leave a Reply

