Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

Yesterday’s sunrise or not.

with 2 comments


Yesterday, I was up early and went out to capture sunrise. Here in Yellowknife the sun was supposed to rise at 7:41 am. I was going to try to capture the sun rising above Latham Island and Yellowknife’s Old Town. I went to the Giant Mine Boat Launch and waited. I watched the sky and the clock and there was no one around except John Mayer, lol. I got out of the truck and got my camera gear set and ready but, it wasn’t going to be much of a sunrise. It was overcast and grey. I captured a few images there even though it wasn’t the scene I was hoping for. I then drove the Ingraham Trail to the end and returned toward Yellowknife. The entire time I was really just scouting new photo shoot locations. There were a couple of places that looked very favourable and I made mental note of them. When I was almost back to Yellowknife, about 2 1/2 hours from when I left, I remembered a location that Steve Schwarz and I had discussed a few weeks before. I had to stop and check it out. When I arrived I parked the truck and gathered my gear. It was only about 3 or 4 minutes to get to the location and it was amazing. Better than I ever thought it would be. I grabbed quite a few images there during my early morning trip and I can’t wait to do some Aurora work there but, for that I better wait for Steve. For those of you who want to know where it is, well I guess you will have to watch and follow Steve and I around for a while. I am not sure if I am ready to tell everyone just yet. For now here are some images from my Sunday morning drive. Enjoy, thanks again for hanging out and as always Happy Shooting.

The lack of Sunrise

The lack of Sunrise

 

 

Image 2 - September 30, 2013

 

Image 3 - September 30, 2013

 

Image 4 - September 30, 2013

Written by leesacrey

September 30, 2013 at 7:30 AM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I know that place! Beautiful shots, Mr. S.
    Did you drive up? Did your vehicle scrape?

    Darren

    September 30, 2013 at 7:54 AM

    • Lol, No Darren, I didn’t drive up. I wasn’t sure if the wheel base on my truck was too long for the first part of the trail. I am sure that once out of the ditch and over that first mound, I could easily make it up there.

      leesacrey

      October 1, 2013 at 3:43 PM


Leave a Reply

