Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

Lights in the North – Not Northern Lights

leave a comment »


Last Night, I decided that if any one of my Yellowknife Photography friends wanted to head out to find Aurora I would go, I just needed there to be some interest. Interest in doing an Aurora shoot is always high here in YK but, last night it was cloudy. I was checking the sky from my back deck and not once did I even see any stars. I got a message from Steve Schwarz (if you read my blog regularly you might remember Steve from our overnight Aurora shoots with the 30 ft travel trailer) asking if I was thinking of heading out. We debated about going and finally decided we would. For me it was a choice between sitting on the couch on the computer or heading outside to find Aurora. The least that would happen if I decided to go would be a few hours of conversation with a friend. I was getting ready to go within a couple of minutes. I picked up Steve and then picked up Tim Horton’s and we were off. We headed out the Ingraham Trail to see if we could find some clear skies with bands of colour. We continued to drive and drive farther from the city with no change in the weather. On our way north we passed a road  construction area where someone was actually work, it was around midnight. We mentioned how we both liked the scene and how it might be a cool photo-op but, we continued north. After a few more minutes we decided it was time to turn back, we were giving up on finding any Aurora. Heading back towards the city we reached the construction zone. We stopped and looked around and decided to capture some images. My camera has a handheld twilight mode which I decided to try rather than get set up on my tripod. What I believe happens when shooting with this feature is like shooting HDR. The camera captures several images and blends them to produce one final image. It does this in camera so I don’t have any blending to do in post-production. The one issue I have with this feature is it only works with jpeg files and not with RAW files. I captured what I wanted and Steve and I continued home. We were out for about two and a half hours. Poor Steve had to listen to my chatter for that whole time, I think I took a couple breaks from my talking to allow Steve three or four words. I hope I was at least entertaining, lol. Back home at around 2:00 am, I quickly checked the images I made before heading to bed. It was a great night, Steve thanks for the company. Here are the lights I captured in the north. Enjoy, thanks for viewing and as always Happy Shooting.

 

Image 1 - October 13, 2013

 

 

Image 2 - October 13, 2013

 

 

Image 3 - October 13, 2013

 

 

7

7

 

Written by leesacrey

October 13, 2013 at 11:44 AM

Leave a Reply

