Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

What I saw in Ulukhaktok.

leave a comment »


I spent the better part of four days in Ulukhaktok, November 30 to December 3, 2013. The first thing I noticed on this trip was that the sun no longer came up. It appears that Ulukhaktok has some light, it looks like the half hour before the sun actually rises and only last for two and one half hours, which is great if you have nothing to de between 10:30am and around 2:00pm.  For me I would spend most of that time at the school. On my second night, while out for dinner, the topic of discussion turned to Aurora. I thought that due to its latitude Ulukhaktok didn’t have big Aurora shows like we get in Yellowknife and I was told that was correct. As we left our dinner host for the evening there was a hint of Aurora sitting lower in the sky and as we headed to the hotel the Aurora grew. I was overjoyed that there was Aurora in Ulukhaktok and I quickly grabbed my camera equipment and headed outside to capture a few images. It was fun shooting the northern lights in unfamiliar territory. I shot for a little while and decided to stop after the RCMP came and checked me out in case I was drinking, lol. I guess walking back and forth behind my tripod in the middle of the street looked odd to the local RCMP. We all had a good laugh, I took two more shots and then headed inside for the night. I don’t think this is my best Aurora work but, when will I ever get a chance to shoot Aurora in Ulukhaktok again. I did some shooting inside the school and even got to photograph the Elders teaching some youth traditional culture. One of the instructors gave me some sweet root to try. I was told it was called Eskimo gum.  It wasn’t chewy like gum and after chewing for ten minutes or so I would describe it like chewing a dirty stick, lol. Maybe that is why no one else tried it. There were no more shots taken outside until we were at the airport waiting for our flight home. I capture a few images while waiting for First Air to arrive. From there we were on the plane back to Kugluktuk and then back home. Another great week to be me. Here is some of what I saw during my four days. Enjoy, thanks for being here and as always Happy Shooting.

 

Image 1 - December 12, 2013

 

 

Image 2 - December 12, 2013

 

 

Image 3 - December 12, 2013

 

 

Image 4 - December 12, 2013

 

 

Image 5 - December 12, 2013

Leave a Reply

