Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

Spot Light on Natalja Westwood

leave a comment »


If you follow my blog, or if you are in the NWT and have been to a Skills Canada Northwest Territories Event, you may know that one of the things I love to do is mentoring students/youth in the Skills Program. I am the Photography Tech Chair for Skills Canada NWT and have done some photography workshops in a few NWT communities. I really enjoy that work, if you can even call it work. I love to see what the students create and I love their enthusiasm, it is a very rewarding program to be a part of. Recently I went back to one of those communities for a follow-up workshop and I was able to work with several students for a second time. So, I head back to Ulukhaktok. Jan Fullerton the E.D. of Skills Canada NWT and Aimee Yurris (a former Skills baking competitor who finished fourth at nationals) were also on the trip, the three of us would spend the better part of 4 days in the community teaching some of the high school students. Having Aimee added to the enjoyment because whatever her and the students would make I would get to eat, lol. It was great, thanks to Aimee for her amazing work.

Ok, before I keep rambling on about the trip and Skills I will get back to the reason for this post. One of the Ulukhaktok students has been bitten by the photography bug. Taking what she learned previously and applying it to her work, buying her own photography equipment and, as I am told, she can be seen around the community with camera in hand creating images. I hadn’t seen any of her work since my last trip so, I got handed a memory card (by the Vice Principal) and was told to look through the hundreds of pictures. Knowing we hadn’t done any work on photo editing yet, I wasn’t looking to see images that had lots of post processing but, images right out of the camera. Images that would tell me what this young lady was seeing. I would have a little insight into how she was applying her photography knowledge, knowledge gained from the previous workshop and a year of shooting. I wasn’t expecting anything, no preconceived ideas of what I would see, no idea of the subject matter, I was just interested in seeing the world of this young photographer. Well, I was very surprised. I knew to expect some good images but I was a little blown away. There were 624 images on the memory card I was given to review and there were lots of great ones. I had trouble deciding which ones I would use for a post production discussion and a general photography discussion. While Aimee worked with the students, I narrowed my choices – first down to about 65 images and then down further to a dozen or so. It was hard, not just because there were lots of great shots but also, because I was picking what I enjoyed with no idea what my young student liked. I told myself to be careful and continued. Once my decision was complete I went ahead and started some minor editing. No crazy post processing, just the basics. I would keep a copy of the original images for side by side comparison and again some discussion. When I had everything the way I wanted, I did a couple of private slide shows for some school staff, they were quite pleased. During our second day, Jan and I did a session on editing and Adobe Lightroom (I actually use Aperture but they have very similar tool sets). We had some images for discussion and would do some editing live on-screen. During one of the breaks I decided to play slide show I made to the young photographer who created the original images.  The slide show featured the edited images, the ones I had chosen for editing. After we did some editing on the original versions so she could watch what things I would do and what effect they would have on the images. I would guess we spent less than 2 minutes on each image. I think it was a great teaching tool and it was just as important to me as anyone else. So, what did I see you ask?

Well,  I would like to introduce you to the work/images created by Natalja Westwood a High School student in Helen Kalvak School in Ulukhaktok, NWT. I am proud to say Natalja was in a workshop I lead and I will thank her for showing me that this stuff I do with Skills Canada NWT is well worth all the effort. Great work Natalja keep it up and enjoy what you do. To anyone in Ulukhaktok or anyone who may visit there, Natalja is the one carrying around the Nikon gear and snapping away. Here are the images Natalja created, enjoy thanks for reading along and as Happy Shooting.

Natalja Image 1 - December 13, 2013

Natalja Image 2 - December 13, 2013

Natalja Image 3 - December 13, 2013

Natalja Image 4 - December 13, 2013

Natalja Image 5 - December 13, 2013

Natalja Image 6 - December 13, 2013

Natalja Image 7 - December 13, 2013

Natalja Image 8 - December 13, 2013

Natalja Image 9 - December 13, 2013

Natalja Image 10 - December 13, 2013

Natalja Image 11 - December 13, 2013

Natalja Image 12 - December 13, 2013

Written by leesacrey

December 13, 2013 at 7:30 AM

Leave a Reply

