Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

The scale of the Paulatuk Landscape

leave a comment »


This is the last night of this trip to Paulatuk and while I sit here writing, I am assuming that most, if not all, of you readers have never been here. I have blogged about Paulatuk several times (three time in the last three nights) so, it may give some of you a little familiarity with the community but nothing I say or show can give a view of the area as well as being here. Tonight, I thought I would display several images of the same subject (one item in the landscape) to try to give you an idea of the scale of the area around Paulatuk. To show just how big the Canadian Arctic can be. About a kilometre from the community is the frame-work of someone’s old camp building. It has been there in the same place since I have been traveling here and it has always interested me. Yesterday, while I traveled around, I took several photos of the old camp frame. I used a variety of focal lengths to portray a number of different views of the landscape around this small old building. In a couple of them you may need to search for the wooden structure as it will be very small. When I am out snapping photographs of this part of the north I love how it makes me feel so small and at times I like how alone I feel while standing with nothing but Canadian wilderness around me. No buildings, no cars, no crowds of people, the business of normal everyday life is gone. It is quiet and very relaxing to me. I think I need to just hike here for a week or so, no phones, no internet, just fresh clean air and wide open spaces. My wife and girls are laughing right now at the thought of me going crazy without the internet, lol. I could do it ladies! Anyway enough talking, here is how wide open the Canadian Arctic can be. If you want to come experience it for yourself everyone here will welcome you and heck I will come with you. Here is a sample of what you can see and feel, enjoy, thanks for popping in and as always Happy Shooting.

 

Image 1 - May 12, 2014

 

Image 2 - May 12, 2014

 

Image 3 - May 12, 2014

 

Image 4 - May 12, 2014

 

Image 5 - may 12, 2014

Written by leesacrey

May 12, 2014 at 9:33 PM

Leave a Reply

