Lee Sacrey Photography – Lee's Chatter

Mainly Photography but a little of everything at times

Place of Coal

leave a comment »


From October 16 to the 22nd I was visiting the Hamlet of Paulatuk. My day job on occasion allows me to travel to interesting places throughout the NWT. I was in Paulatuk to assist with some accounting/finance work and although I did bring my camera gear, I wasn’t sure I would get much time to photograph. Being that far north the sun isn’t in the sky as long as it is even in Yellowknife so daylight would be limited. I was also expecting snow and ice to be all around the area by this time of year. Flying in from Inuvik on a Beechcraft King Air, I was surprised that there wasn’t much snow and Darnley Bay was not frozen, there weren’t even any signs of ice starting to form. After landing I got settled into my residence for the week and began to plan for a week of work. Throughout the week Paulatuk experienced all types of weather, sunny skies one day, raining the next and snowing the next. For most of the week it was wet and overcast. Even in those conditions Paulatuk is one of my favourite places to visit. Two of the evenings I was there I got out for around an hour to create some images and on my final full day I took some time to go out and see the amazing landscapes around the area. I had use of a truck and drove around for about one and one half hours. Last time I was in Paulatuk, I saw five Grizzly Bears in six days. This time I didn’t see any but, there were three around the Hamlet during my trip. I captured only the landscape this time. Next time I go to Paulatuk it will be winter and I bet January is a cold month there, I guess I will find out. For now I can only show you how the area looked in mid October. Here is a sample of what I saw, enjoy. Thanks for viewing and as always Happy Shooting.

 

Image 1 - October 26, 2013

 

 

Image 2 - October 26, 2013

 

 

Image 3 - October 26, 2013

 

 

Image 4 - October 26, 2013

 

 

Image 5 - October 26, 2013

 

 

Image 6 - October 26, 2013

 

 

Image 7 - October 26, 2013

 

 

Image 8 - October 26, 2013

Written by leesacrey

October 26, 2013 at 2:37 PM

Leave a comment